Emilie Winkelmann

Emilie Winkelmann| First female freelance architect in Germany
* 08 May 1825 in Aken | + 04. August 1951 at the Hovedissen estate near Bielefeld

Passion and dedication can unleash incredible forces within us. For Emilie Winkelmann, a love of architecture inspired her life’s work.

Emilie was a rebel who went to university when women were not allowed to attend. Being bold and determined, she managed to access the education she wanted and went on to become a celebrated architect.

As a youngster in her grandfather’s building supplies shop, Emilie came to love all of the materials used for building houses. She trained in carpentry and decided to become an architect. Fearless and clever, Emilie chose to ignore the fact that women were not allowed to enrol in university courses, only being admitted as guest students. Being of course fully aware of this, Emilie enrolled at Hanover Technical University as E. Winkelmann. She broke the rules, followed her professional calling, and went by the name of Emil during her entire time as a student. It was only shortly before the final state exam that the university found out that they had been misled. Emilie was forced to leave university without a degree. 

Even without being granted qualifications for her studies, Emilie devoted her life to architecture and made a name for herself in the field. She was the first self-employed female architect in Germany to open her own office, which at times engaged up to 15 employees. In 1907, she won the first prize in an architectural competition to design a Berlin-based theatre with a ballroom. Commissions for villas and country houses in Berlin soon followed. As a member of the Lyceum Club – the leading women’s club in Berlin at the time – she earned many of her commissions via the women’s movement. Her business flourished. Emilie’s most important buildings include the ‘Viktoria-Studienhaus’, the first female student dormitory in Europe built in 1915, as well as the ‘Haus in der Sonne’ (House in the Sun) in Potsdam-Babelsberg, a residential building for retired single women. 

Emilie was ahead of her time. The buildings she designed continue to be regarded as remarkably modern even today and many have been awarded heritage protection status. From after the Second World War until the end of her life, she worked in reconstruction and housing refugees and the homeless in the wake of the war.                              

Emilie was a feminist pioneer who pursued her own path to emancipation and education. She never let a lack of titles or recognition hold her back. A brilliant woman who, despite all odds, achieved a phenomenal amount in her life.

more daring women…

Emilie Winkelmann

Emilie Winkelmann| Erste freiberufliche Architektin Deutschlands
* 8. Mai 1875 in Aken | + 4. August 1951 auf Gut Hovedissen bei Bielefeld

Begeisterung und Leidenschaft können wahnsinnig viel Kraft in uns freisetzen. Bei Emilie Winkelmann war es die Liebe zur Architektur.

Emilie war eine Rebellin, sie wollte studieren, zu einer Zeit, in der Frauen das Studieren verwehrt war. Willensstark und kühn setzte sie ihren Bildungswunsch durch und wurde eine anerkannte Architektin.

In dem Baufachgeschäft ihres Großvaters lernte die junge Emilie alle Materialien für den Hausbau kennen und lieben. Sie erlernte das Zimmerhandwerk und beschloss, Architektin zu werden. Emilie war clever und unerschrocken und setzte sich über die Tatsache hinweg, dass Frauen der Zugang zu Hochschulen nicht erlaubt war. Lediglich als Gasthörerinnen waren Frauen zugelassen. Das machte sich Emilie zunutze und schrieb sich als E. Winkelmann an der Technischen Hochschule Hannover ein. Sie widersetzte sich den Regeln, folgte ihrer Berufung und zog das gesamte Studium als vermeintlicher Emil durch. Erst kurz vor dem Staatsexamen fiel ihre List auf und sie musste die Universität ohne Abschluss verlassen. 

Aber auch ohne Examen in der Hand hat sich Emilie einen Namen gemacht und ihr Leben der Architektur gewidmet. Emilie eröffnete als erste selbstständige Architektin Deutschlands ihr eigenes Büro mit teilweise bis zu 15 Mitarbeitern. 1907 errang sie den 1. Preis in einem Architekturwettbewerb für ein Theatergebäude mit Festsaal in Berlin. Es folgten Aufträge für Villen und Landhäuser in Berlin. Ihre Mitgliedschaft in der führenden Frauenvereinigung Berlins, dem Lyceum Club, verschaffte ihr viele Aufträge aus der Frauenbewegung. Ihr Büro florierte. Zu ihren bedeutendsten Bauten zählen das 1915 errichtete Viktoria-Studienhaus, europaweit das erste Studentinnen-Wohnheim, sowie das in Potsdam-Babelsberg entstandene „Haus in der Sonne“, ein Wohnhaus für alleinstehende Frauen im Ruhestand. 

Emilie war ihrer Zeit voraus, die von ihr entworfenen Gebäude gelten auch heute noch als bemerkenswert modern, viele davon stehen unter Denkmalschutz. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg engagierte sie sich bis zu ihrem Tod für den Wiederaufbau und die Unterbringung von Flüchtlingen. 

Emilie war eine feministische Vorreiterin, sie verfolgte ihren eigenen Weg zu Emanzipation und Bildung. Sie hat sich nie unterkriegen lassen, auch ohne Titel und die gebührende Anerkennung. Eine großartige Frau mit einer bemerkenswerten Lebensleistung.

mehr Starke Frauen…